Chrissy’s Victorian Book Print Rosette Wreath- a photo tutorial

Good morning from Brooklyn!

Michelle here!

Today I want to wow you with Christina‘s wonderfully detailed and traditional wreath. There is also a mini photo tutorial for those who want to try to make a few of the roses for  their own project- no special tools needed other than some scissors, tweezers and a hot glue gun!

Victorian style Christmas wreath made from printed book pages and Gauche Alchemy's Acme subscription kit

As Chrissy tells it:

“Here it is!  My finished wreath!  My very first wreath EVAH MADE!  This was a total labor of love.

I used ripped out pages from an old telephone book, pages from an old romance novel ‘For the Roses’ by Julie Garwood and papers from the Gauche Alchemy Acme kit.

I love the textured effect Chrissy got by using different sources of paper and by having the rosettes face in different directions so the sun strikes hem differently- that's beautiful!!!

I rolled each. and. every. rose. by. hand.  I can’t even tell you how many I made!  A couple hondo easy. After they were rolled, I applied some Tattered Angels glimmer mist in gold.  I then added some Diamond Glaze and a healthy sprinklin’ of crystal glitter by Scintillement.  After everything dried, I shook off the excess and
hot glued them onto my wreath form.

This is a particularly beautiful detail shot

The floral spray was a stem I bought at a local hobby store and completely dismantled.  Once I had my leaves arranged and glued, I used the pine cones and some berries to fill in any bare spots.  My finishing touches are poinsettias by Irene’s Garden for Blue Hills Studio and a resin Santa ornament.  I dressed up my pine cones with some twine from the Twinery and the berry clusters with some green hemp from May Arts.

Well will you look at that! A perfect bow!

Now, onto the biggest headache of this wreath, THE BOW!  I HATE making bows.  I suck at it and have NO patience for it.  I used ribbon from May Arts to make all of the bows.  Sure.  That bow looks all neat and
pretty.  But the backside of it….YIKES!”

The rosettes are the star of the show in this amazing holiday craft project. Here’s a quick and easy step by step tutorial:

Cut yourself a circle. A punch that will work too. I like the imperfections for character but it really doesn't matter. Start at the outside edge and cut the circle into a spiral. If you make a wavy cut, it will look more like "petals" as you make the flower. Stop just short of the actual center of the flower. You'll have a small circle at the end of the spiral which will act as your base for the flower. (Editor's note- LOVE the imperfect cutting tip Chrissy! I tend to over-think this step and end up with rather boring florettes- I like these much much more)

Using your tweezers, start at the outside edge and roll the spiral tightly around the tweezers, making your way to the center, once again stopping just short of the little circle in the middle.

Remove the rolled spiral from the tweezer and let it unwind. Add a dot of hot glue or quick drying adhesive to the unrolled center spot. Press the center spot to the flower.

Depending on how tightly you wound up the rosette your flower can be budlike or a full bloom. After applying hot glue to secure the rosette Chrissy added mist and glass glitter to make her flowers shine.

Go on- try it! You’ll have roses left over which you can use on ornaments for the tree or even better- as fancy tag adornments for wrapped gifts!

Merry Christmas!

2 Responses

  1. That wreath looks like a labor of love!! It is so stunning! Love it!!!

  2. […] used rolled flowers and if you aren’t sure how to make them you can come check out this great flower tutorial by Mama Chrissy! […]

Leave a Reply

