Chrissy’s Lost Mojo Fix

Hello friendly peoples!

This is Michelle.

I’m having a very bad month craftwise. My crafting has dwindled to ZERO, ZILCH, NADA.

I have a full box of LOVELY Gauche Alchemy stuff just sitting there on my table.

What. to. DO???

Chrissy says PLAY and spread the craft love by giving your final result to a friend.

Some black cord, Prima and ZVA bling, a 7 Gypsies tin, red bead trim from the GA Scarlet Fever Red Mixed media color kit and lots of ink- BOOYAH! Perfect gift card holder!

According to Chrissy:

“I’m hoping that this ‘Harlequin Tin’ has enticed my mojo to come back from its drunken bender at a cheap Caribbean motel.  I am using this tin as a gift card holder for a friend of mine whose birthday is coming up.

I knew I wanted to use a bold color palette and a dramatic theme.  Voila!  The Harlequin Tin!

I used a 7 Gypsies tin that I’ve had for a couple years now and went to town on it with my alcohol inks.  I brushed and dabbed the color “Watermelon” using a Tim Holtz felt applicator pad.

Love the red, black and silver color palette!

Once the ink had dried, I used my harlequin stamp (a new fave!) by Technique Tuesday and stamped the diamond pattern onto the tin with Ranger Archival ink in Jet Black.  I found it’s easier to skip mounting the stamp to an acrylic block and just carefully wrap it around the tin for full coverage.

The alcohol ink still felt tacky after fully drying. To bring back some of the “wet paint” shine and
get rid of the tackiness (HA HA!!), I sealed the whole thing with a coat of clear high gloss acrylic spray.

Love- LOVE!!!! this- will have to try it- silver punchinella really brightens up the lid.

To Gauche things up, I used some silver punchinella as a border wrap around the tin and on the top.  I also used some Ouchless Cardboard and made an accordion flower.  I then used some Prima floral and bling goodies as well as a mini key from the Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kit and the red beaded strand from the Scarlet Fever Mixed Media Color Kit.

I love that red beading from the Scarlet Fever Mixed Media Color kit! Check out Chrissy's Ouchless Corrugated board accordion flower.

Making the corrugated board accordion flower is easy!

Ouchless corrugated flowers before and after some heat embossing and glimmer misting.

Simply fold the cardboard after every two ridges- no scoring necessary.  Try skipping ridges for more texture.  Then glue the ends of the corrugated strip together, press the inside circle down onto the table and glue onto a chipboard piece holding it until the glue hardens.”

So there you have it! I really love how Chrissy constantly raids her stash- it’s really inspiring.

I actually have 3 family birthdays coming up right after New Year’s. The idea of giving cash or a gift card in a Gauched up tin is FABULOUS- I get shivers just thinking about venturing into a shopping mall right now- ACK!!!- TOO SOON!!!

Chells out.

3 Responses

  1. I love the use of punchinella here and the colors are terrific, love red and black together!

  2. Great article Michelle & A.MA.ZING project Chrissy!! 🙂

  3. Whoa! Love the bold color combo and all the sparkly bits!

Leave a Reply

