Maggi’s Sewing Box

Hi everyone! Maggi here to show off a project I created using our new kit, Moshi Moshi. One of my favorite parts of this kit are the little sewing bits included, like the vintage sewing pages and the card of thread. I had a small box frame hanging around (got it from a thrift store for 60 cents!) so I decided to grab that and create my own “sewing box”:

Mixed Media Altered Frame

I first created the background using some of the sewing paper and then stamped onto that using the included PVC punchinella and blue and bronze paints. The rest came together when I decided that instead of using some of the thread off the card, I’d just glue the whole thing in there. lol I cut the woman out of another piece of sewing paper, drew lines on her dress and attached her using pop dots for some added depth.

Altered Mixed Media Frame
I thought the thread card looked a little bare so I added the button from the kit and some crystal pins that I had saved from my wedding bouquet. See, hoarding does have its advantages! A little piece of PVC punchinella and the beaded string that comes with the kit and I was finished! A quick and easy project that’s found the perfect home in my craft room. 🙂

Thanks for taking a peek and don’t forget to go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
5 Responses

  1. FAB project Maggi! 🙂

  2. I’m LOVIN’ this sewing box. The background is lovely – I like how you picked out the colours from the other elements you’ve used. Great use of the punchinella, it gives the project a different edge.

    I LOVE your last sentence – go glue something awesome onto some awesome something! Try saying that after a glass of wine!!

  3. Wow! It looks fabulous Maggi! Love the bit of punchinella at the edge…Nicely done!

  4. You know, I could totally see this as the top of a sewing basket. Yeah, yeah… do it!

  5. Just gorgeous, I love that background! I think we need another tour around that fabulous craft room of yours Maggi – it’s been a while 😀 In fact – I’d love to see all the GA girls crafting spaces… cos I’m nosy like that 😛

Leave a Reply

