Extreme Makeover: Magnet Edition

Hi everyone! Maggi here to show off some more projects I made using our new Moshi Moshi Kit. Am I the only one that has crappy corporate magnets on their fridge? You know the ones you get for free from restaurants, other businesses and the back of the phone book?

My fridge was tired of being boring and purely functional so I decided to “Gauche” it up by snagging these magnets and giving them a Gauche Alchemy makeover!

I was given a series of Japanese Hello Kitty stamps and decided to incorporate those with my Moshi Moshi kit to revamp the magnets. The fabric and patterned paper in the kit was the perfect background for these babies.

Upcyled Altered Art Magnet

I added various pieces from multiple Mixed Media Color Kits (by far my favorite thing in the shop!).

Mixed Media Magnet

This last one was the most labor intensive thing I’ve ever done. I cut a flower from the patterned paper, then got the bright idea to individually cut teeny tiny pieces of the sewing book page and glue them in the outside of the petals. Luckily the time consuming cutting was worth it.

Upcycled Altered Magnet

So if you have some boring refrigerator magnets screaming for a makeover, why not make them Gauche? If you do, we’d love to see! Make sure to add them to our Flickr Group!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
5 Responses

  1. Awesome!

  2. How annoyed am I that I didn’t think of this before? Thanks for the heads yup Maggi! I actually have a bunch of corporate and wedding dave the date magnets cluttering up my fridge- it’s time for them to get a second life as gifts! LOVE those Moshi Moshi kit fabrics and embellies!!! These are really beautiful!!!

  3. These are gorgeous!

  4. Oh wow! I have crappy corporate magnets too! I guess here in the future, they won’t be so crappy anymore!! MUAHAHAHHAHA!!! Yours look great! I’m pinning them!

  5. Definitely worth the time and effort Maggi. How YOU is that kit, eh? 😀

Leave a Reply

