Wendy’s homage to a true lady- her Mom

Good Morning folks!

Michelle here with an astoundingly beautiful project for design team member Wendy Morris.

For this project, Wendy turned inexpensive raw pine shadow box from her local craft store into a touching homage to her Mom.

Take a look:

altered_shadow_box_mixed_media

The front cover is a modern mosaic of clear tiles, photos and fun vintage patterns.

Wendy explains:

“I created this mini altered shadow box in tribute to my mother, Josie.  She is truly an inspiration and an icon of beauty, endless love, dedication, support, and loyalty.  I’ve always been in love with these vintage photos of her and made copies to use for this project. ”

Here is a close up so you can see two of the things I love about Wendy’s work: her ability to work with vintage materials and she her total ROCKAGE of Tim Holtz fragments in her work: (Yes, “rockage” is a word. I use it in Scrabble, so there!)

altered_shadow_box_Tim_Holtz_fragments

Materials: Paper from Simple Stories, Glitz, Fancy Pants and Echo Park. Lace from Gauche Alchemy Ribbon Lace kit, ephemera from Gauche Alchemy Lady Marmelade Orange mixed media kit, Tim Holtz- Ideology Clear Fragments. Krylon Spray Paint.

“I call my Mom ‘sassy diva’.  She’s a lady who doesn’t look her age, someone of strength and independence who brings sparkle to those who meet her with her sweet personality.  She is truly a beautiful soul who also can make you laugh as well. ”

decorated_shadow_box_interior_bottle_caps

Once open, the box reveals four compartments which Wendy decorated to represent different aspects of her mother's life and personality.

“The embellishing really started to unfold as I thought of how I wanted to symbolize the story of my mother. If you look closely, the paper behind her mini photos is made from old recipes.  She can cook some soul food that makes the soul jump through the roof! ”

recollections_alphabet_altered_shadow_box_interior

This makes me want to raid my Mother's photo stash! Materials: Recollections Glitter Alphabet, Maya Road Mini Wooden Spools, Bingo Number and Ribbon , Martha Stewart Doily, Tim Holtz Mini Clothes Hangers and Flowers from Prima.

“The mini thread spools & dress pattern symbolize her love for sewing.  She makes the most amazing hand stitched quilts, clothes, embroidery and crochet. She even upholstered furniture back in the day. ”

altered_shadow_box_mini_spools_hanger_clips_doily

LOVE those mini spools and cookie cutters! Mod Podge and dress pattern paper make for the perfect neutral but textured backdrop.

“The flowers signify her amazing “green thumb” and the beautiful flower gardens in and around her home.  I’ll always have memories of my Mom’s amazing love for flowers and how they are always picture perfect!”

altered_shadow_box_interior_paper_flowers

A perfect way to use some of your flower stash for maximum WOW effect.

For this project Wendy used the Lady Marmalade Mixed Media Color Kit, The Lace Ribbon Variety Pack and the Acme Subscription kit for the dress pattern and recipe papers.
I imagine this gift went over extremely well. I know my Mom would FLIP if she opened a hand-crafted box with clusters of bright flowers inside! I may have to try this for Mother’s Day. Thanks for the tip Wendy!
Go on and have a productive day!

You can follow Gauche Alchemy via:











10 Responses

  1. Love love this idea… she did this so beautifully..everything is just so perfect! so so love it! xo

  2. WOw! this is gorgeous, and such a wonderful way to honor your mom Wendy!

  3. Perfection!

  4. This is a beautiful tribute to “our” mom….I’m beyond words. My sister has amazing talent! Great job Wendy 🙂

  5. Oh I think I’m gonna cry! If my sister came on here and commented I would CRY! Wendy you really are amazing- I’m so honored to be able to write up your projects- YAY!

  6. Really beautiful artwork with such a sweet centre. How wonderful that you think of your Mom as a ‘sassy diva’!

  7. beautiful Wendy, just beautiful xox

  8. This is beyond beautiful… The project and Moma 🙂 Wendy you’re so inspiring!

  9. Thanks so much EVERYONE!
    {wow, my sis, April, even chimed in} *hehe*
    ((many hugs)) to all!!
    Wendy 🙂

  10. Such a gorgeous gift, so personal, so beautiful. Everything about it, just wow!

Leave a Reply

