Plastic, hot glue and you. Some do’s (more don’ts)

Hello, Michelle here.

My idea of a good time is: cut paper up, glue it onto more paper. But I must admit adding paint, 3D items and mixed media techniques to the mix is very exciting. Today I’m sharing 2 projects along with a few DOs and DON’Ts I learned while on the make.

First up:

valentine's_day_scrapbook_punchinella_scarlet_fever_color_kit

A page I made for the True Xoxo Girls challenge blog using one of my favorite color combos. That little pink monkey came with the Pink Parts kit- LOVE HIM!

DO: Use the Scarlet Fever and Pink Parts mixed media color kits together. The color clash is AWESOME! Throw in some Gauche punchinella for texture why don’t cha? And feel free to cluster brads. They multiply in their packets if left unsupervised for too long.

DO: Reuse plastic bubble packaging to make “shaker” embellishments. To make this photo backed shaker, I glued the plastic cover over an Instax print. Inside went heart punches as well as glitter, sequins and beads from the mixed media kits. I used Zip Dry glue. Which leads me to:

DON’T: Use Zip Dry glue for this project- especially in an enclosed windowless space. After I came to (ha ha!) I realized hot glue is easier. Zip Dry dries FAST (No.way!) so the top edge was rock hard by the time I got around to the other end. Hot glue gets cold quickly but remains pliable so you can move the photo around after you attach it to the loaded bubble. Oh and:

DO: Glue the edges of your PHOTO and attach it to the loaded bubble… not the other way around. I learned this the hard way. I blame the fumes.

pink_mixed_media_color_kit_scrapbook_page

My husband's idea of a proper outfit consists of a too small summer shirt and striped pants that match nothing so I was very pleased with this. WTG, hun!

DO: mist the color red. If you STILL think (as I do) that it looks a bit… RED RUM!, tone it down with pink and cream colored mist. Or put a loud distracting piece of paper over the mess- that works too.

DO: Use a mascara brush and flick it energetically over the paper for an extremely fine spray (with “no clumps”). You can use a paint brush but that uses a lot of product. I get chintzy when using 5 dollars per ounce of anything.

DON’T: Ready, Aim, FIRE straight down onto the page- unless large unpredictable blobs of color are intended. Straight down is great for stencils or layering but if you just want some color on the page it’s better to use a brush or the tube end of the misting sprayer.

Here’s a quick card with scraps left over from other projects:

upcycle_valentine's_day_card_ruffle_DYI

October Afternoon Rocket Age paper, American Crafts Amy Tangerine fabric paper for the pleats, and alphas from My Little Shoebox. Sequins from Scarlet Fever mixed media color kit.

DO: make photos part of the shaking fun. Buuuut….

DON’T: Add pinked edges and red mesh to the photos without an outside smooth edged layer to prevent everything sticking together when shaken. I had to futz around with this for a while to get all three photos to show. It was quite… vexing.

upcycled_recycling_product_packaging_card

Getting the red and white twine to STAY STILL over the pleats led to major scrap dramz- hot glue to the rescue. Finger prints? Who needs those?

DO: use an anti-static cloth (the kind you may have for your camera lens) to keep small punches from sticking to the plastic cover. The glitter needed a spray of Static Guard anti-static spray to lay still.

How about you? Do you have a favorite technique you’d like to share? Link your project up to our Flickr page and we may just feature it here on the blog!

Have fun creating!

Image Map
6 Responses

  1. I LOVED these DO’s and DON’T’s Michelle! You really made me laugh 😀

    Your Monkey LO is STUNNING. Great layers and texture and that groovy pink/red colour combo.

  2. You are too funny! I love this! I’ve never done a shaker before, but this looks like too much fun…especially a card with your pics as part of the shaker???? Awesome!

  3. Great tips and gorgeous layouts Michelle!

  4. These are amazing, Michelle! Love your Do’s and Don’ts list too.

  5. LOVE the tips and the LO’s!

  6. Love the do’s and don’ts! I especially took note on the pinked edges! Your layouts are fabulous! So 3d and interactive! I am sure some little hands are going to love shaking those bubble containers! And brads multiply? Who’d have known? That must be my problem…and I can GROUP them? AHHHH thank you! I will try to do that…I will force my self to try! Even if they are like children to me!

Leave a Reply

