Daydreams and an Altered Chocolate Box

Hi everyone! Maggi here to show you a new project from Alchemist Jo, an altered chocolate box:

Altered Chocolate Box

Jo says: I used an empty chocolate box as my base. (I had to scoff the contents really quickly so I could use the box, tee hee!)

Empty Chocolate Box Top

I particularly liked this box because it had a wide edge, much like a box frame.

Empty Chocolate Box

I LOVED the GA retro/vintage papers in my ACME Kit and was totally inspired by the page with the picture of the little boy eating an ice cream while resting from his chores. He had such a day dreamy facial expression and it just got me thinking……

I covered the box with torn strips of GA old printed paper using Mod Podge, and then gessoed over the top, wiping away the excess so that the the print was still visible. Once this was dry I tinted the paper with Distress Inks (Weathered Wood and Pumice Stone). I cut out the GA image of the boy with some of his background and stuck it in the bottom right hand corner. I then used more images from the ACME Kit and collaged them around the boy, suggesting that he his daydreaming about different ‘boy’ things (terribly sexist I know, but he is a kinda retro image when sexism was alive and well!) – fishing, ships/explorers, butterflies, nature, America etc. I used a GA ADMIT ONE admission ticket from the Blue Streak Mixed Media Color Kit, smearing gesso over it to dull the bright colour. I tried to keep the colour palette blue.

Altered Chocolate Box Top
I found the parachute man in a charity shop (yes, I’m the mad woman who is rummaging around in the children’s pocket money toy baskets. You’d be surprised what treasures you can find in there!!) and suspended him from the top of the box using old string. I secured this string through the top of the box using GA jean rivets from the Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kit, knotting the string to stop it pulling through.

I cut out a sentence from the GA page which the boy picture had come from, “He ate ice cream while he rested” and stuck it to the front outside edge of the box.

Around the edge I then stamped a quote/poem by H Wadsworth:

Sit in reverie and
Watch the changing color of the waves
That break upon the idle seashore
Of the mind.

I loved the way it summed up daydreaming.

Another amazing altered project, Jo!  The parachute guy is pure genius!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
6 Responses

  1. I love what you did to a mere empty chocolate box, Jo!! The use of the old paper strips from GA, the gesso & weathered inks is grand. I especially like to see you using those rivets again -ingenious!! This project makes me smile.

  2. so cool!

  3. I love this! Very creative and inspiring! You have my wheels a spinning now…

  4. The box looks wooden by the end 😀 So clever. Another amazing project Jo!

  5. This is really awesome. How beautifully creative!!

  6. Jo, this is so brilliant. I never would have guessed that was a paper box. I thought it was probably a wooden box when I first saw it. And I hear you about digging through thrift store children’s toys – I do it all the time … and it ends up in GA kits! 🙂 The curio kits each have at least one such figurine. (I also raid my kid’s stash when their belongings get too overwhelming – but don’t tell them that! They rarely notice for the amount of toys they have!)

Leave a Reply

