Misty’s Puchinella layout

Good day!

Michelle here with a great mixed media scrapbook page from design team member, Misty.

Misty is not afraid to try new things or develop her own techniques by exploring without a final product in mind. It’s a wonderful thing to have as a designer and the primary reason why I admire her talent.

Case in point:

Oh. SNAP. !!! Check out the texture on that baby! Amazing! Love the magenta and black color combo as well. The newsprint squares peeking though is an awesome detail!

So we’ve established why I’m a fan.

I’ll let Misty explain what she did:

“This is a page about my sister and her family. I started on the background by grabbing a piece of card stock, some book pages from the Acme Subscription kit and Mod Podge.  Once dried, I lightly covered everything with white acrylic paint and misted some black, magenta and bright pink colors which I let drip or wiped down until I got the effect I wanted.  It’s been a couple of layouts since I broke out the heavy metal so I used the metal eyelets and wire from the Black Out Mixed Media Kit along the side of the page. ”

Some detail shots:

The Scrap FX chipboard has been embossed and inked for a metal look. Here you can really see how Misty dripped the paint or wiped it away to emphasize the texture.

“I then added black punchinella and magenta lace for a border and behind my photo. Since  I was using the “Family is a Circle of Love” chipboard piece from Scrap FX, I thought I should use a circle as a matt for my photo.  So I cut, painted and misted a circle from ouchless cardboard.  I decided the page still looked a little plain and needed more metal so I added a chain and charm along the bottom (from the Black Out Mixed Media Kit), some fabric rosettes and FINALLY it felt done!

Thanks Misty. Your fearlessness is truly inspiring.

Have you tried using metal or painterly techniques in your scrapbook layouts? Let us know by linking us up or posting it on our Flickr group– who knows! You might be featured on this very blog!

Have a crafty day!

Add Gauche Alchemy to your social circle!


Image Map
2 Responses

  1. Oh WOW! FANTASTIC textures and colours, this is a fab LO.

  2. Soooooo beautiful! I love the textures, the colors, the grunginess of it. Love it.

Leave a Reply

