In Bed With Mixed Media Color Kits

Hi everyone! Maggi here to share with you one of, what I like to call my “Night Owl” projects. Ever have one of those? You know, you’re in bed, falling asleep, when all of a sudden you get a creative idea and just have to get started before you forget? Yep, that’s what happened here:
Create Mixed Media Wall Hanging

I was in bed, drifting off to sleep when I got to thinking about the Mixed Media Color Kits. I’ve been wanting to do a project like this for ages, something that incorporated pieces from the color kits and really showed them off. Thinking about it was driving me mad so I jumped out of bed, headed to the glue and was up until 2:00 in the morning putting this bad boy together. 😀

First, I started with a picture I found at the thrift store, then created the background using a technique I found on Julie’s blog, Life With the Tucker and Wolek Clan, I left the pattern paper on (because apparently I can’t follow directions, lol) and also added gel medium and glitter to mine. (P.S.-I am so in love with this technique, I’ve used it multiple times already so I asked Julie if she would guest post this technique here and she said yes! So watch for that coming soon!)

Found Objects Wall Hanging

I then gathered all of my Mixed Media Color Kits and started to lay them out on the background. I was SO happy with my result until I realized I then had to go through and glue everything down. :/ Luckily it went pretty fast and I’m satisfied with my twilight hour project. 😀

Altered Wall Hanging

I’ve always said that our Mixed Media Color Kits are my favorite Gauche Alchemy product. I highly suggest stocking up on them for those late night projects! 😀

Speaking of which, you can stock up on our Mixed Media Color Kits and everything in the Gauche Alchemy store at 10% off through the end of March in honor of National Craft Month!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
3 Responses

  1. such a creative idea! I love it!

  2. This is such a happy piece of artwork, Maggi! I LOVE it. The background is really cool.

    x

  3. […] In Bed With Mixed Media Color Kits (gauchealchemy.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

