Nature Lesson

Hi everyone! Maggi here to show you a nature lovin’ altered shadow box curio from from Alchemist Jo. Take it away, Jo!

************************************

Altered Shadow Box
I have LOVED looking at Maggi’s and Chrissy’s Curio Boxes that they made from the wonderful Knick Knack Paddy Whack Kit and wanted to have a go at doing one myself – and I wanted to have a go NOW! In one of my ‘things to alter’ box I found a curio box that I got cheap because it had a scratch on the acrylic (but I don’t really mind about that).

Raw Shadow Box Ready to Alter

With this box, the acrylic ‘lid’ slides off. I gave the box a coat of white gesso to seal the wood, and then applied a coat of brown acrylic. I used a crackle glaze medium but, as usual, didn’t read the instructions properly, and applied the second coat of acrylic paint too soon so it didn’t crackle, more flaked. But you know what? I really liked that look, it gave it the look of something that’s been kicking around in a garden shed for many many years and that was pretty much the look I wanted anyway. See, there are happy mistakes!

Mixed Media Shadow Box

The ‘feet’ are 4 beads, painted the same way as the box and applied with a glue gun.

Box Legs Made From Beads

I then had lots of fun filling the box with curios from nature that give us lessons in life…… A heart shaped pebble (love), a shell (Home), a feather (be gentle), eggs (nurture), a seed head (expand your horizon), a seed pod (protect), a leaf skeleton (find the beauty within), and a dead moth that got blown into the house one day (seize the day).

Nature Themed Shadow Box
The eggs are polystyrene eggs painted with acrylic paint and dotted with brown. I used some Ouchless Cardboard for the shell to sit on and the leaf skeleton (which needed to be raised nearer the lid or it seemed to disappear) and some white net from the Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kit for the seed pod.

Finally, I screwed the clasp into place.

Wow, that was such fun to put together!

************************************
Thanks Jo, you have a way with nature! And I just love how your “mistake” produced this amazing peeled paint look, *love*.

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
5 Responses

  1. NO kidding about the mistake! This thing looks fantastic! I love the concept behind it too, such a treasure!

  2. Jo, you’ve done what i would call a “creative recovery” re: the crackle paint by turning a so-called mistake into something fantastic. I love the way it turned into peeled paint for your curio box . . . and the objects & words you used are so perfect. Love this! The beads for feet make it extra-special.

  3. I love the peeled paint look!!! It looks amazing! I love the idea behind your curio and the elements you chose for symbolism. Brilliant.

  4. Gorgeous. I love that the moth lives on! This is all totally, totally gorgeous in a grunge-tastic but delicately beautiful way.

  5. I LOVE it!! The paint is flaking off perfectly!!! And I also love the nature theme and that each piece represents a specific value- that’s awesome. The acrylic cover is fantastic! I think I might be able to pull that off with some thinner material and a pair of scissors- so gonna try it!!! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

