Fun With Paper Collage

Hi everyone! Maggi here to show you the newest project from Alchemist Jo. Jo has created some paper collaged postcards and they are AWESOME! Take it away, Jo!

***********************************

mixed media postcards

For this project I took my creative cue from the vibrant colours on a children’s book page from the ACME Kit and decided to have some FUN with the kind of colours that I never usually use. For these 4×6 postcards (or 6 x 4’s depending on your angle), I wanted to focus on experimenting with the backgrounds.

Postcard Collage

First, I sprayed the blank postcards with Cosmic Shimmer Mist (Teal wash), and then I sprayed over this with a darker shade of Shimmer Mist (Ocean Sunlight), using various styles of Punchinella as a stencil. I used the sprayed side as a stamp and also sometimes used a baby wipe to smear the excess ink through the cut out holes, which gave a lovely soft effect.

Postcard Paper Collage

Once these were dry I used a bottle cap dipped in gesso to leave random circular shapes over the cards. I then stuck on tissue paper scraps (mine are mostly Decopatch scraps), and highlighted the gesso circles and edges of the card with Sun Yellow Dy-na-flow. This paint has a wonderful intense colour that I wanted for these cards but you could use acrylic paint or ink too.

Paper Collage Mixed Media Postcard

I stuck on the fun little cartoon characters and added foreign text from the page – I have no idea what they’re saying, but I assumed that as they came from a children’s book they wouldn’t be rude! I outlined the wording and central character with Periwinkle Dy-na-flow.

Mixed Media Postcard

To finish off I added funky eyelets in the corners and threaded through some ball chain, to which I attached a super cute mini rubber duck from the Banana Hammock Yellow Mixed Media Color Kit. Playing with Gauche Alchemy products really help me move out of my comfort zone, using funky colours and images that I would never usually do. And you know what? It was such fun!

************************************
I just love these, you rock Jo!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
4 Responses

  1. This is such a cute idea and I love the duck, Its like you made your own little mini childrens book!

  2. I love these too! What a fun background Jo, that you could use for most anything. I love seeing this change in use of more color for you. The whole thing, the background, playful images and different text are so appealing. I agree with maggi -you rock!

  3. Jo, these are cute! I can read what each card is saying, but don’t know the translation! ;D I love the background techniques you used.

  4. These cards are delightful!! I adore the background treatments too.. fabulous work!!

Leave a Reply

