Baby, You’re a Star!

Hi everyone! Maggi here to show off the first project Lenna Young Andrews created with our Showstoppers kit!

Take it away, Lenna!

********************************************
Altered Mini Album
I looked through the kit to see what would inspire me and really wanted to work with the long ticket album. I liked how there were other things in the kits that coordinated so nicely with the “ticket” theme –actual ticket stubs, a ticket stamp, show theme papers . . .

Mini Album Cover

The funny cartoon included in the old magazine pages caught my eye and I used the actual album page/cover as a template and cut the cartoon to fit the cover.  I included the words from the cartoon, added one of the ticket stubs from the kit and used a Sea Sponge to sponge brown paint around the edges. As I was doing this it came to me that this should become a photo book and the people in the photos would be the stars. My theme was born!

I took the fibers and a shell button from the kit and used household Goop to adhere them to the cover. Using more of the fiber that came with the kit, I tied additional strands on to my original loop. I dabbed a bit of tacky glue onto the ends to prevent it from fraying. I also chose 4 small gold beads from the kit and used tacky glue to add them to the cover round the shell button.

Found Objects Close Up

I practiced writing with a white Sakura Glaze pen on some of the cartoon magazine page scrap. It worked fine, so I went ahead and ‘cemented’ my theme by writing “baby you’re a star” on the cover. I sponged on Bright Gold Lumiere paint to  compliment the brown paint and when this was dry, sealed the cover with a Gloss spray finish. When that was dry added the 2 Prima flowers.

Covering Mini Album with Paper

I then looked through the nice assortment of scrapbook paper and wallpaper to use to prepare the pages of the album. I cut the pages the same way as the cover with the wooden album page as a guide and used the same paper for both sides of the spread of pages to unify them.  All of the pages are covered with either scrapbook paper or a wallpaper sample from the kit… I used my xyron adhesive to make each page I cut out into a large sticker that I could then place down on the blank album page and burnish it to stick. It worked very well.

Found Objects Mini Album

I started choosing photos for the pages. My husband had just taken a series of photos of me with my new camera and I thought it would be cute to have a photo of me taking pictures of the “stars” in my life: my dogs & my husband. The little strip of film from the kit was just so appropriate! I used it as a border for the first photo of me taking pictures and was amazed to find there was exactly enough to use it as a border for the other 2 photos of me I included!! The xyron came in handing for attaching the film strip pieces too.

Found Objects Mini Album

I attached the photos and film strip with my xyron. On the page with the circles, the wallpaper was too dark to show off the film strip nicely so I backed it with a lighter piece (a trimmed photo border) before xyron-ing the whole thing into the book.

Mixed Media Mini Album

I used tacky glue to add a strip of sequins (kit) under 2 photos and my xyron to attach a section of star punchinella to one page. I added journaling about my pups under their photo and used tacky glue to add rubber stamping a feather to their page!

I added a couple of star rubber stamps to the pages to continue the theme and used a micron pen to write a bit.  I also used a sparkly copper Gelly Roll pen to add emphasis to the names and the stars. I knew the word rubber stamps I had chosen would not show up on the darker papers in my album, so I stamped them with white permanent ink on white paper, ran them through my xyron to make stickers, cut them out and placed them where I wanted!

Mixed Media Stamping

I rubber stamped with permanent ink directly on my photo of my 2 dogs, giving them STAR dog tags! I used a micron pen to draw in collars, made little stickers for their names and added an extra sequin from the kit for a little extra sparkle.

Mixed Media Mini Album Pages

Mixed Media Mini Album Collage

Click for larger view!

******************************************

Wonderful album Lenna, the theme you zeroed in on is perfect! Don’t forget to grab your very own Showstoppers Kit in the Gauche Alchemy store!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
7 Responses

  1. YES! Gauche with a Lenna twist (sounds like a fancy cocktail, doesn’t it?!). I LOVE what you’ve created with the Showstoppers kit, Lenna. And as Steven, Asia and Chloe are your stars, how perfect that they get such a starring role in this mini book :o)

    xx

  2. This is beautiful Lenna! I’m really loving your stars…and the different textures on them…what did you do?

  3. Such a fantastic mini album! You totally did the mini album justice and I can’t wait to see your next project using the kit!

  4. The more I see of this kit, the more fabulous it looks (and it already looked pretty dog-gone fab to begin with!).

  5. Love this!! So fun!

  6. Gosh, thanks so much everyone! Misty, you asked about the different textures on the stars? I think you mean the ones I stamped that are striped? I used a sparkly copper Gelly Roll pen to add emphasis to the stripes and the stars. If it was something else, let me know – you can reach me via my blog!

  7. I LOVE your book Lenna and how it all came together so beautifully-you’re a shining star!

Leave a Reply

