Technicolor Life

Good morning, Marilyn here with another terrific layout from Alchemist Michelle.  She’s used bright, happy, neon colors to make her layout really pop.  Here she is to explain how she did it.  Michelle, take it away………..

Neon Color Kit

Two years ago I saw this advert for an Alexander McQueen collection showing a close-up profile of a Mohawked model looking down.  I didn’t realize how deeply ingrained that image was till I shot this photo and realized I’ve been DYING to recreate that photo for 2 years.  The recent advert for the American version of “Girl With A Dragon Tattoo” is a direct “lift” of  that campaign as well.  I’m loving teal stripes, black thread and hexagons right now so they all got incorporated into my final page (the red border is a shellacked table in my apartment).  I used punchinella, die cuts and that AWESOME peacock eraser (which I cut in half to use twice!) from the Neon Color Kit, kraft paper from The Paper Company, Fancy Pants tape, Scrap FX chipboard, and the nail polish is a local store brand.

Nail Polish Neon

Some of the techniques I used on this page prove why joining social networks is essential for artistic development.  I got the nail polish painting technique from JamaicaMakes.com – she posted a photo on Instagram and I knew right away I would be trying this technique out.  Nail polish is GREAT for embellishments like chipboard or alphabets. It has deep color, dimension, and sheen so no extra treatments are necessary.  I added glossy accents to cover up the gel pen “doodling” I did on the heart.  (Doodling in quotes because all I did was outline the shape.)

Polish Paint Chipboard

I have neon purple and pink nail polish I will never use on myself since it chips literally minutes later, but it works beautifully on chipboard! WOOO HOOO!  The Hipstamatic Ben Watts lens adds high contrast to photos so my purple heart went black – there’s poetry there somewhere I’m sure.  I also used the totally AWESOMESAUCE Lablebox app to add writing to my photo.

Scoring Board Kraft Embossing

I’ve had to move all hobby activities to late night since my daughter turned 2 so this is me scoring paper at 2am using a table knife because I couldn’t find my bone folder quietly.  (If you are imagining avalanches of paper, yes, that’s why.)

Scoring Lines

I LOVE this detail shot. I know it’s random but I really like the abstract look of it.  Here you can really see the embossed lines I made using my score board.  Again, this was a technique I found on Twitter from Melissa Mann who designs for Green Frog Studios (amongst other brands).

Chipboard Stitch Hexagon

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with acrylic paint; but when I first started scrapbooking, I used pre-printed paper and embellishments because I felt couldn’t paint or draw, so it’s a little Alanis-type ironic.   Here I watered down some 79 cent acrylic paint in “Citron” and literally spilled it on the kraft paper.  I used a heat gun to dry the paper before it got too warped.

Chipboard Neon

I used neon gel pens to color in the chipboard letters.  I also used neon pastel crayons on the chipboard swirl and scratched a sort of border on them – another technique I found using social media networking.

**************************************
Thanks Michelle.  The layout is totally awesome and the bright, happy colors lift the spirits.  Never would have thought social networking could be another tool for us to use in our art.  Hmmmm, think I’d better get on the ‘net & see what tips I can unearth.  Until next time……………

Smiles~
Marilyn

Image Map
8 Responses

  1. Michelle, what can I say?! This is a STUNNING LO and I really enjoyed looking at the all the details that you picked out (using those uber-cool Hipstamatic photos). There are some great tips that you’ve shared here – nail polish? Yes!! It looks great! The smeared watered down acrylic paint? Yes!! I LOVE it! The stitching, the scoring, the neon gel pens?! Yes!! This piece just SINGS to me, I love it.

    x
    Super cute photo of your little girl too :o)

  2. I love this page! I think scoring the page was genius…would have never considered that, and I think the way you used the gel pens on those letters gave such a cool effect!

  3. OUTFRICKINGSTANDING! LOVE every stitch of this page!

  4. I absolutely love it! I had heard about nail polish for other things but this is cool too!

  5. Gorgeous, Michelle! So many fun techniques! 🙂

  6. Love it! Love it, love it, love it! And I also love that you can name your inspiration from ages ago at the drop of a hat too. Fab photo!

    Nail varnish is also fun for dribbling down the page 😉

  7. I’ve actually been writing down the names of people who’s tips inspire me- I think this foments “community” and all that jazz- plus I’m hoping I flatter them and make them my friends because invariably they are people I would hang with and love to death anyway. 🙂

  8. Great idea – especially for the cotton wooled of brain amongst us.

Leave a Reply

