Neon Cuteness in a Tutu (or madness and a camera)

Good Morning Everyone!  Marilyn here with a layout from Alchemist Michelle that is stunning in it’s creative cleverness & just so darn cute to boot.  Michelle, show us what you’ve got…………………………………………..

Mutant Robots Kit

My daughter actually napped today!!! For 2 hours!!!  I got to do some work in actual DAYLIGHT!!!  Using the same basic page design I always use, I slapped on some  washi tape, (including some triangles which I am now officially obsessed with) and incorporated the Gauche Alchemy Neon Color Kit and the Mutant Robots Kit (for the Alice In Wonderland quote, rabbit, word bubble and pink frame).  I wanted to include some journaling but I ran out of space, so here’s the story:

I had a very elaborate “Alice In Wonderland” theme birthday party planned for my 1 year old daughter.  That should tell you everything about how it went right there.  Elaborate and 1 year old do NOT mix.  The disaster alarm started ringing from the first step – a photoshoot with a handmade tutu and apron set I thought was “adorable”.  Well first of all, she hated the tutu.  She also hated the insane Carmen Miranda flower tiara I made for her (I was the Red Queen for the party but obviously Mad Hatter was a more appropriate choice).  I took Miss Thang out 7 times over the space of 4 weeks to get 1 cute baby smiling at the camera shot.  I didn’t even manage 1!!!  I was shooting with a brand spanking new point and shoot camera on auto.  Ok – straight talk from the chick who wasted 4 years and 60 thousand dollars on a photo degree.  DO NOT SHOOT TODDLERS IN SCRATCHY TUTUS USING AUTO FOCUS!!!!  Learn to use your new camera on manual setting or pay K-Mart to shoot the darned photo for you.  WHY?  Because your adorable kidlet in a tutu will look at the camera and smile for exactly 3 seconds no matter how long you spend trying to shoot.  The rest of the time the child in question will move around – a camera on auto focus will spend all it’s time refocusing and you will slowly go MAD.  But you knew this, didn’t you?

Closeup Word Elements

Journaling – 173 images.  Yup, you read right, 173 images – well, it’s actually around 300 but 173 is my final edit from all 7 shoots.  I SQUEALED when I saw the page from Alice in Wonderland in my Mutant Robots Kit!  It’s one of my all time favorite books and it fit the theme I had been struggling to capture for a while now.  I altered the grey American Crafts Thickers using some acrylic paint, yellow marker and a fine line pen.  The neon yarn is from the Neon Color Kit.  The background paper is my favorite print from Basic Grey’s AWESOME “Out of Print” collection.

Washi Tape Stripes

TRIANGLES AND STRIPES!!!!  LOOOVE!  Washi tape is so great – cut it up and stick it on – that’s all you need to create all kinds of cool patterns on your paper.  My favorite combos are diagonal stripe, grid and lace scallops.

Washi String Color

I don’t know if anyone else does this but I like adding cream or white mist droplets to my photos for a “Bokeh” effect without all the fancy in-camera technical footwork.  It’s easier than trying to get the right amount of “out of focus” and I really don’t like random messy effects digital “Bokeh” filters add to photos.

Graffitti Inspiration

Let me leave you with this quote:  If you are silent, the walls speak. Please do not forget me they plead.

*********************************************************

Don’t you love it when you can take several different Gauche Alchemy Kits, pull elements out of each, and then watch things “fall” into place (especially when you spot THE piece that you need for your project”?  Even if it does take umpteen shots to get the perfect (or not so perfect) shot?  My eyes are crossing just thinking about looking through a camera that many times!  Michelle, you rock!

Until later……………………..
Smiles~
Marilyn

Image Map
6 Responses

  1. You do make me laugh Michelle!

    I think the photo you went with is amazing. Much better than a posed shot, so natural, so gorgeous.

    And yet another gorgeous page. So much to see and ogle 🙂

  2. And thank heavens for digital cameras where we can take 173 pictures (or more) without going broke proofing them!

    Great shot and fun layout, Michelle!

  3. This is beautiful! I love the flourishy paper (I know not a word). I really love the shapes and the paint on the photo. It gives it such a magical look, I’ll be lifting that idea!

  4. What a beautiful photo!! Having never heard of Bokeh I’ve just read it on 2 blogs in the space of 15 minutes, how weird is that?! Anyway, it gives a wonderful magical fairy dust look to the picture and I LOVE it!

    Sweet memories, sweet LO.

    x

  5. OMGoodness!!!! Michelle, this is simply AMAZING! You always rock it out, but this one just has an extra WOW factor! The photo is amazing and the way the scrolly floral bits are tucked in around it is just perfection!

  6. Thanks guys! I’m looking at it now going DARN!!! I missed an opportunity to add another layer! Whatever that means. Marilyn you made me laugh with the cross eyed thing- I know I came off like a total loon here- I was a new Mom. I blame a lack of brain chemistry due to lactation- I’m better now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

