Life is Beautiful

Hi everyone! Maggi here to share with you a canvas I recently completed. Lately, instead of having a plan of what I want to make, I just start slinging and gluing stuff around to see what sticks. While not always successful, it definitely yields interesting results. 😛

Mixed Media Altered Canvas

I started with an 11×14 canvas and Mod Podged a sheet of scrapbook paper to it. BTW, I’ve always used gloss Mod Podge in the past but decided to give matte a whirl and holy crap, it is AWESOME and I’m not using gloss like, ever again. Once you go matte, you never go back!

Misting on canvas

Anyhoo, after that was done I added some Dylusions Ink Sprays (these are so fantastic) in various colors and decided to play around with multiple styles of our Washi Tape. I really wanted to use this glittery ornament I got on clearance after Christmas so he made a home in the bottom corner there.

Christmas ornament on canvas

Next I decided to use some modeling paste with a circle stencil and didn’t feel like that showed up enough so I added some Pearlex powders to it. Once I added the title, “Life is Beautiful”, I felt that it and the washi tape was sort of fading into the background so I outlined all of it with a black pen. Done and done!

Neon letters outlined in black pen

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
9 Responses

  1. I love the cheerful text and vivid colors.

  2. The text is great & the colors really stand out.

  3. Really great Maggi! Love the colors and the balance you achieved. Rock on!

  4. this is gorgeous! 🙂

  5. I think it is often a great idea to grab some items you want to work with and just start playing! The ink colors are rad and the way you used the tape is awesome, Maggi. I especially liked how you added to the washi tape by outlining it. you go!

  6. This is so wonderfully bright and zingy. Cute little sparkly fella :o)

    Great sentiment too.

    xx

  7. Adding an outline is a sure-fired way to make items pop. I probably wouldn’t have recognized the great washi tape as it’s own element without it!

  8. LOVE IT! So beautiful and colorful!!!

  9. Those colours are amazing Maggi. Such fun!

Leave a Reply

