Precious in Purple

Hi, Marilyn here with another attention-grabbing, earth-shaking layout from Alchemist Misty.  I have to say, when I saw this, it reached out, grabbed me, and said “Purple Rules!”.

Purple is truly Misty’s gorgeous niece Mallory’s color and Misty is going to show us how she worked her magic on this eye-grabbing layout.  She can always mix that right amount of grunginess with a touch of sweetness to knock us off our feet (& out of our socks).  So, without further ado or to-do, here’s Misty……………………………………….

Because I am out of white/cream cardstock, and don’t plan to buy anymore, I started this layout on a red piece of cardstock instead and covered it in gesso.  Then, I pressed the rectangle grid punchinella into the wet paint for added texture, added my mists and allowed to dry.  From there I started my layering, first using some music paper from the Acme Kit that I misted and adhered with modpodge.  Then, I continued to layer using some white mesh from the Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kit, some peacock punchinella, and another piece of the same music paper, tucking in a tag to the left for some journaling. 

Close Up

The sentiment at the top of the page came from cardstock found in the Going Postal Mail Art Kit that I matted with some TH tissue tape.

Filmstrip

I had bigger plans for the film strips but changed my mind in the middle of it all.  Unfortunately, they were already tied down with eyelets so they just became part of the design anyway… 🙂 

Rose Ribbon

I then added the picture and some torquoise rose ribbon as a border.  To add some extra interest, I added pieces of a chicken wire chippy from Scrap FX as well as the “Precious” wordlet.

Mixed Media Layout

Thank you Misty.  Just look at that finished layout!  WOW, doesn’t she make it seem so easy?  A little punchinella here, some layered paper there, give it a good mist, glue on some wording, and KAPOW!, there it is!

Until later………………..
Smiles~
Marilyn

Image Map
10 Responses

  1. LOVE it all!!! I think you mix up the most fantastic purples Misty- always so rich and varied- using gesso to cover up a different color paper is so smart! This is really beautiful- love the tonal differences I see in the background and that photo is AMAZING! Love the film strips and chicken wire triangles too- great design elements!

  2. what a rich and beautiful layout, Misty! I love the mists, the music paper (perfect!) and the film strips. Your niece is beautiful and made more beautiful with all you have added to this layout.

  3. Wow’d us once again! Love it!

  4. so gorgeous!!

  5. Thank you! Although, I do blush with all the sweet words you guys share, I really appreciate it!

  6. That is gorgeous!!

  7. You always work MAGIC with textures and layers Misty…this is FABULOUS!

  8. Ditto Kelly! 🙂

  9. SOOOOO gorgeous!

  10. This is LUSH, Misty!! Really gorgeous LO, colours, textures, everything (and Mallory is beautiful too!).

Leave a Reply

