Vintage paper flower tutorial by Keely Yowler

Oh my goodness. I am so in love with Keely’s work I just don’t know what to do with myself! Look at this layout she made using the Moms for Mams kit!
kyowlergirly

Keely is a woman after my own heart – not only did she make fantastic use of the elements in the kit, but she even used our kraft paper packing material! (Yes, we even carefully plan our packing material so you can re-use it if you want to! Go Keely!)

I thought the flower on this layout so gorgeous that I asked Keely to provide us with a little tutorial. I’ll be trying this one for sure – what an easy way to add a beautiful and unique embellishment!

Vintage Flower Tutorial
by: Keely Yowler

Supplies:

2 paper choices
black ink
beads
adhesive

Instructions:

These flowers are really so simple. I love the vintage look.
1. First, you’ll need to choose 2 papers. I like to use one solid and one patterned. Any patterned paper with lettering gives a great effect. The heavier the paper, the better dimension you will get.

2. To make the flower shape, you can use a diecut machine, stencils, or hand draw your own flowers. I used the “George and Basic Shapes” Cricut cartridge. I chose the flower template with 5 petals (sizes 1 ½”, 2”, 2 ½”, 3”). Whatever template you choose, you will need 4 different size flowers, alternating patterns. If you decide to hand draw the flowers, draw your inner flower (the smallest one) first. Cut it out and use it as a template to draw the next one a little bigger. Cut this one out and use it as a template for the next, and so on, until you have 4 flowers.

3. Apply ink around the edges of each flower. You don’t need to be neat.

4. Starting with the largest flower right-side up, fold each petal in half lengthwise and open again to form crease. Do this with each flower. I like to stack my flowers before gluing to see how I want the petals arranged. Layer the flowers so that the petals are not overlapping and each petal is visible.

5. You are now ready to glue. I like to use a liquid glue (Alene’s Clear Gel Tacky Glue). Start with the large flower and glue each flower on top. When you have it arranged, glue the finished flower to your layout. Apply a good sized drop of glue in the center of your flower and drop in a bead. You can also use a mixture of tiny beads or a button.

6. Tear two leaves from the patterned paper. Don’t worry about making them perfect. Follow the same instructions for the flowers by inking and folding. Apply glue to the end of your leaves and tuck under your finished flower.

7. You did it! The great part is that each flower has its own unique look.

2 Responses

  1. Wao! Keely, you put everything in the kit together and made this fantastic layout!

  2. great photos

Leave a comment