Never Bored With Cardboard!

Hello everyone, Maggi here with this month’s Theme Day! 😀 One trick of the creative trade is using cardboard on your projects. It’s versatile and can be used in a million different ways. So this month, the team decided to play with some of our Ouchless Cardboard and share with you some ideas and creative ways you can use cardboard in your creative projects.

Erika says: “I Glimmer Misted each of the layers, inked the raised edges using Distress Ink then stamped the largest flower with a flourish stamp. While they were still wet, I crumped them up to get a more realistic look.”

Yvonne created these pen holders using Ouchless Cardboard:

Angela says: “I used my QuicKutz to cut the title out of Ouchless Cardboard. As you can see, it squished the cardboard a bit, but it looks really cool! I also used hand cut Ouchless Cardboard strips sprayed with Glimmer Mist for the border, and also used a chunk of it as my photo mat, after I had inked it a bit with Distress Ink.”

“The “flower” was created with an old-fashioned bottle cap and a small strip of material found in my Mixed Media Color Kits, which I glued to the back using Beacon Fabri-Tac glue. And of course, Punchinella accents my background. I stapled it down and then stamped little hearts in all of the circle spaces! :)”

Kas made these awesome embellishments and picture frame for her layout using Ouchless Cardboard:

Lara has been obsessed with paint and ouchless cardboard for months now. She says, “I finally was pushed to experiment with the two together – to see what kind of texture the paint and the corrugation could create.” So she created this wall piece:

The alpha letters are also corrugated cardboard from Joann’s. She also added screen around the letters, painted of course!

The acrylic paint is mixed with Liquitex String Gel which gives it a bit of a honey-like consistancy and makes it super glossy.

Do you have some cool ideas involving cardboard? Let us know in your comment or better yet, upload a picture of your cardboard project to our Flickr group!

And don’t forget, you have until Midnight on Sunday, June 27th to post a link to your Game On! Mixed Media Challenge entry! You could win a $10 Gauche Alchemy gift certificate!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something! 🙂

7 Responses

  1. Oh I love this post! loving the idea of ouchless CB too I may have to try some.

    love Dawn xx

  2. wow – everyone had such wonderful and varied ideas on using this! I love love love it allllll!!!!!! And I have to also say Angela’s use of Punchinella is so awesome with the little hearts. Nice!

  3. I loaded wo layouts using ouchless cardboard to the flicker group!!
    003

  4. OMG I’m loving all of these. So different all of them. But Lara – you just know that wall hanging has given me little heart palpitations 😀

  5. Ouchless cardboard is the BEST!! But, all the techniques you’ve showed are awesome! So many ideas, so much inspiration, so little time!!

  6. Major Awesome!

  7. Great ideas! I love how different everyone’s ideas were!

Leave a comment