The Gauche Alchemy Challenge #1

We have SO MANY amazing artists that contribute to the Gauche Alchemy community we would like to issue a challenge to see what you can do! This will be a monthly feature here on the blog and we are so excited to see everyone’s fabulous creations and different takes on the challenges posted!

Challenge #1: Use this brilliantly Gauche ad, courtesy of Vintage Scans to inspire a mixed-media masterpiece!

Link up to here by Midnight EST on Sunday April 26 and we will choose a winner by random who will win the awesome Wholey Sheets kit!
For bonus chances to win if you post about the challenge somewhere else and let us know, your name will be entered in an additional time!
AND an additional bonus – upload your creation to our Flickr group for yet one more entry!

Now, for some inspiration: let’s see what some of your fabulous design team came up with:

Angela used the ad as inspiration to do a layout about her grandmother. Angela says, “Grace Pauline Harris, who we lost in 2007, was a spitfire – never slowed down until the very end. Now that she has passed, I believe that she is my muse, forever looking over my shoulder and inspiring me.

I knew I was going to do this layout the second I saw the Wholey Sheet kit and ACME Mixed Media kit had both a bingo and a Rook card in it – my grandmother’s two favorite games. I created the layout background by gluing wallpaper included in my kit to the corrugated cardboard using Modge Podge. I let it dry overnight, and then sanded it. Man, it created a wicked cool texture!”

**************************************************************************************************************

Maggi decimated her Wedding Night White Color Kit and her Black Out Color Kit to create this standing billboard. She also played with her Bombshell Stamps to give it that extra kick!

**************************************************************************************************************

Yvonne used the Pink Parts Color Kit and a spritz of Red Velvet Glimmer Mist to create this adorable “Pink Pls” layout.

**************************************************************************************************************

Stephanie pulled together bits and pieces from her Pink Parts Color Kit and Winter Slush Blue Kit. That fabulous car (from Bombshell Stamp’s Speed Shop Set) is clear embossed on white cardstock – sprayed with Glimmer Mist – Red Velvet Glimmer Mist and Patina Glimmer Mist finishing it off with acrylic paint smudged around edges….

**************************************************************************************************************

Erika made this piece using just about the whole Gauche Alchemy Artfire store!
All of the texture is done with Delta Gesso. Then sprayed with an assortment of Glimmer Mist. Inked up with Fired Brick Red Distress Ink and StazOn Jet Black, highlighted stamped image with her Inkssentials White Opaque Pen and then finished off with pieces from her Scarlet Fever Red Color kit and Wedding Night White Color Kit.

**************************************************************************************************************

Remember – you have until Sunday night to create something all your own and link us up!
We’re so excited to see what y’all come up with!!!!!!!

19 Responses

  1. Wowowowow, awesome projects! And wait a sec, that’s my baby on Yvonne’s layout! lolololololol How freakin’ cool! I adore you Yvonne! 😀

    Way to go DT, these are looking good! 😀

  2. LOVE all the projects!!

  3. I love everyone’s unique take on the ad! And that ad is SO awesome in itself! Oh man, am i excited!

  4. I love all these projects, what great inspiration. I thought I spotted Toot on a layout from Yvonne! Nice work girls!!!!!!!! Maggi, that piece is relly cool with the bombshell girl- love her! xOxO

  5. I am hangin out the window of the yummo villa and yelling my head off with happy feelings.Off to get my red neck on! I’ve got special glasses and long johns tooo. ^__^

  6. OMGOODNESS!! I cannot WAIT to play!!!

  7. Pretty Pretty!

  8. Wow! I’m loving all the different interpretations! 🙂

  9. These are all fantastic!!! You have my creative juices flowing………

  10. […] made the layout below for the Gauche Alchemy challenge that is currently posted on the Gauche blog.  This layout was made with a variety of Gauche products including the Wholey Sheet kit and […]

  11. Wow. Those are really fabulous!!!

  12. HELLO!! Win wholey sheet??? I’m SO IN!!!
    I’ll be back when I post it to my blog, and the flickr group, and….I’ll read the post again.

    DT Rocks OUT LOUD!!!

  13. Way to kick ass, girlies! Love all the other projects!!!

  14. OK chicks. I posted the challenge on my blog!!! here’s the link!! WOO HOO, one entry so far!!
    http://scrappy-arts-n-thoughts.blogspot.com/2010/04/hello-hello.html

  15. […] Inspiration Redux Posted on April 22, 2010 by larawi Monday we announced a new fun little feature here at Gauche Alchemy – a challenge of sorts – […]

  16. here it is, it’s also in the Flickr group:

    Challenge #1

  17. Hello!! Danielle here, and I have my piece on my blog!!
    I put the addy in the “website” sectiion of the reply, but I will leave it again:
    http://www.scrappy-arts-n-thoughts.blogspot.com

    AND I uploaded to the flickr group.
    AND I talked about it on my blog TWICE.
    and i think i covered all the places to leave stuff. OH, I’ll go to the new mb nextt!!

  18. take 2, first try didn’t take. wtf???
    Here is my entry, it is on my blog:
    http://scrappy-arts-n-thoughts.blogspot.com/2010/04/wholey-sheet.html
    AND on the flickr group
    AND I’m off to the mb next!

    TFL!

  19. […] bring’s new flowers. And mothers world round are honored for all they have done for us. Last month we introduced a new feature here on Gauche Alchemy – a reader challenge. This month we […]

Leave a comment