Layout from Outer Space

Hi everyone! Maggi here with a new layout from Alchemist Michelle!

I loved our kit, Monstrous Mutant Robots From Outer Space from the moment I saw it- the pops of orange and the Bam Pop papers are so AWESOME. But I must admit the patterns are very intimidating. So here’s what I did- I pretended the paper was plain white. Sometimes the biggest hurdle using a certain material is overcoming your preconceived notion of what the final product should look like. I’ve been drawn to white background pages for a while now but when I tried to put this page together on white paper, I felt I needed to add a background to it with stamps and misting so I just decided to let the paper be what it is. I really like this as it represents what my nephew’s minds must look like (there’s probably more burgers, fries and soda involved though.)

Mixed Media Scrapbook Layout

My youngest nephew Marcus (background) is within the Autism spectrum and though he’s highly functional, mastering social interaction took a while for him and makes him uncomfortable to this day. His older brother Kaine (foreground), does his best to guide him through interactions in school and in public. It’s a role he didn’t choose for himself but he handles the occasional stares and comments with humor and good sense.

Journaling Card

You’ve seen these before- I have a thing for triangles on borders lately. I’m so excited about the geometry trend in crafting! Mathematical equations, triangles, hexagons- I have a fetish. What I love most about washi tape is that it’s translucent so layering solid colors over patterns really makes an impact.

Punchinella and Washi Tape

I also used our blue punchinella, red grid washi tape, and metallic silver washi tape!

Robot Scrapbooking
The embellishments in the this kit are really cool. I LOVE these wall decals and their pure colors. I also cut out the robots from another Bam Pop paper but they never made it on here- in a future project perhaps.

Awesome layout Michelle!  Your layering of different elements is always so inspiring!

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something!

Maggi 😀

Image Map
6 Responses

  1. Michelle, I really enjoyed seeing how you used the items from the kit — very creatively! I also love your washi tape embellishments and had to go pick up another set, the green combo pack ; ) yes!

  2. This is such a great layout! Those layers are awesome and I’m loving the arrows!

  3. I have loads of papers like that, that I’d love to use as a background but they overwhelm me. Great idea to think of it as white paper with stamping.

    Another great page of two gorgeous boys x

  4. love it, Michelle!

  5. FABULOUS LO Michelle, love the colours and fun details. That’s a wonderful photo of the 2 brothers.

    x

  6. Awesome layout!. I think very creative and inspiring examples.

Leave a Reply

