Napkin Art

Hi everyone, Maggi here! One of my favorite Gauche Alchemy posts from the past is the Napkin Art, Ever Heard Of It? post where we shared a tutorial written by Sharon Tomlinson. There’s also a great paper making post using napkins called Easy Homemade Translucent Paper. Both posts are full of awesome instructions and information on how to take an everyday ordinary napkin and incorporate it in your creations.

We thought this would be an excellent project challenge for our Design Team and I cannot wait to share with you what they made! Check it out:

Carmen:

I made this wee fella for a friend who is an amazing art journaller. She uses such bright and funky colours in her journals and I wanted to to try and pay homage in her birthday present. I used acrylic paint and Gauche Alchemy’s Paper Napkin Art Kit, picking out some of the detail with my sparkly spica pens. I also used the Blue Streak, Lady Marmalade and Envy Mixed Media Color Kits plus a healthy dollop of Glossy Accents. ๐Ÿ™‚ Quack Quack ๐Ÿ™‚

Merdrey:

I used the napkin included in my Napkin Art Kit and the frame that was in the Wedding Night White Mixed Colour kit for my project! I removed the second layer of the napkin and tore out the part with the text ‘Sometimes the solution to life’s problems is a good dessert’ and using Making Memories’ glitter glaze, stuck it to the middle of the frame.

I added some vintage glass glitter which I had and adhered it to the bingo card and punchinella from Blue Streak Mixed Media kit! The little button with the word ‘cream’ is from Banana Hammock Yellow Mixed Media kit. Also added the spoon from Baskin Robbins which I got from a recent trip overseas. I’m going to use this small project on a bigger layout!

Deb:

Yvonne:

I made this wall hanging on a 6 X 12 piece of clear acrylic using some Punchinella and bits from the Pink Parts Mixed Media Color Kit.

Angela:

I used my napkins to make paper doll dresses for this layout entitled “Magic”. I used Mod Podge to adhere the napkins to white cardstock and manipulated the napkins with my fingers while still wet to get a wrinkled look, which reminded me of fabric. I used old photos of my daughter as a baby and a little girl, and put her little head and hands on the napkin paper doll dresses. I then added wings to both the paper dolls and made them into fairies, which I then built this layout around. I also used elements from the Wholey Sheet Kit and the Pink Parts, Envy and Wedding Night Mixed Media Color Kits.

Kas:

It is a frame I made for my daughter’s room.ย  It has napkins and also paper (bird) from the ACME kit.ย  The rub-on saying is from Rhonda Farrar.ย  The bottle is from Art Loves Chaos.ย  The rub-ons on bottle are 7 Gypsies.ย  The bottle label is also made from napkins.ย  The embellishments are from the Pink Parts Mixed Media Color Kit.

Pam:

I used two napkins on this piece-the ladies drinking wine and the olive branch. I love the translucency of napkins. I also used some ribbon and string beads from the Scarlet Fever Mixed Media Color Kit and some olive vine and Brick Glimmer Mists and Black StazOn Ink for the stamping.

Aren’t these projects great?ย  It’s amazing what you can create using ordinary napkins.ย  Do you have some napkin art hidden away?ย  Why not share it with us on Flickr or Facebook?

Now go glue something awesome onto some awesome something. ๐Ÿ˜€

6 Responses

  1. I love them all. I see some real Gauche(y)ness coming out in these projects. From Duckies to magic…great job.

  2. This post has really made me smile today ๐Ÿ™‚ Love all of them in different ways, wish I could click these for some close up drooling!

  3. Amazing work ladies! I don’t belong in your league! Awesome stuff! Such inspiration that I thought I would never use napkins in any of my own work……now I surely will.
    –Deb

  4. WOW – had NO idea that napkins were so versatile! You all ROCKED it! I agree with Carmen, this post really made me smile today… ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Awesome creations! I’m looking at napkins differently now! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a comment