Neon Diva

Good morning everyone.  Marilyn here with another awesome layout from Alchemist Michelle.  She has worked wonders once again and given us another bright, colorful, happy layout, using our totally cool Neon Color Kit.  Michelle, show us what we can create…………………………………..

Neon Kit Chevron

My daughter astounded me the other day by running up against a corner on the street and posing like a model.  I love how she looked moodily off to the right and stalked off when she saw me press the button on my iPod to take the shot.  This page was a complete fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants experiment.  I knew I wanted to try out the chevron pattern trend but I don’t have the patience to measure out perfect angles so I did this close up version to simplify the process.  The materials I used were just lying around on my table.  I had to machine stitch everything because the washi tape kept peeling up – word to the wise – use glue or stitch it down if you want permanent adhesion on tapes sold through American manufacturers like American Crafts.  (Oh, hey, did you know we have killer deals on washi tape in our shop now?)

Chevron Stripes Punchinella

The stripes were made using neon pink washi tape, Peacock punchinella, yellow embroidery floss and then machine stitching everything into place.

Neon Layered

So you like the “neon” trend but REALLY don’t want to splurge on new items that cost a fortune only to find out OOOPS you hate the look?  I used older materials for this page that were already in my stash – here the alphas are from Pink Paislee 2011, Crate Paper Paper Hearts, Gauch Alchemy’s AWESOME Neon Color Kit, Hambly, and American Crafts (the tropical inspired Margarita line).  I also bought some cheap neon acrylic paint, price stickers from the dime store, and used gel pens from Sakura which can help you achieve the look for minimal price.

Grafitti Hipstamatic

Just a fun photo you can use to close the page with.  “Neon” photo taken with Hipstamatic’s Ben Watts lens and Big UP film and then altered further using Camera+ app.

Pinwheel Neon Punchinella

Why buy embellishments when you can make your own?  Here I punched out a simple square, cut into each corner, folded in one of the triangles for each corner, and wham – instant pin wheel!  I used a half pearl and a pop dot to secure the middle.  Are there any hand made embellishments you prefer to make?  Leave a comment or a link to your blog and we’ll swing by to check it out!

****************************************
Thanks for sharing this inspiring layout (& your model is totally adoreable) with us.  Just goes to show that you can create great and wonderful things without breaking the ol’ piggy bank.  A little ingenuity and a treasure hunt through you stash is all that’s needed.

Until the next time…………….
Smiles~
Marilyn

Image Map

5 Responses

  1. Oh Michelle, your daughter is SO CUTE!!! I’ve gotta to work on that moody look!

    Your LO is FANTASTIC, you ROCK neon! Your chevron stripes look brilliant. The stitching, the colours, the cute pin wheel – it’s all WOW!

    My order of Washi tape arrived from Gauche Alchemy today, it’s SO GORGEOUS I’M DROOLING (AND SHOUTING!).

  2. This is awesome Michelle! I am just in awwwwwee of the design, and the neon looks incredible! Plus, your daughter…has to be one of the cutest kids every…she’s always so stylish!

  3. love the stripes on this! fab! 🙂

  4. so totally loving this! Michelle is always amazing!

  5. WOW! This is amazing, Michelle! Really blows my mind!

Leave a comment