Lara’s Pre-Art Journal Art Journal

Hi!
Lara here….
I’d like to share with you a project I just made for a friend of mine for her birthday. I’ve been calling these things “pre-art journal art journals” as I’ve made a couple so far and am starting to figure out how to perfect them. And using Gauche Alchemy products to do so since they’re so diverse and repurposeful friendly 🙂

Anyways, these journals started out as just envelopes bound together (Version One Here). Then I started adding some paper in for journalling in addition to the envelopes (Version Two Here). Which brings us to this Version Three which takes the envelopes and paper further (can’t give away all my secrets now, can i?).

First of all, yes, I am a paint whore. And i’ve become OBSESSED with spray paint. So, indeed, there are about five layers of paint on this! For masking the paint I’ve used a variety of Punchinella as well as Plastic Canvas which comes with the Wholey Sheet Kit. You might also see some errant stamps here and there I’ve collected over the years…

So, the shtick I have with these “pre-art journals” is that they’re all made from materials I already have – including envelopes of all sizes and varieties. The cover is an interoffice manilla envelope i made more sturdy by inserting chipboard into the front and spine. The back is still open for sticking things in! That’s the point of these things – to stick things into them! (that’s what she said)

Can I get a “what what” for Punchinella and the Envy Green Kit please?!

I have no idea if i’ve invented a special binding method, but there’s no kookiness to it – just metal binding rings 🙂 That way things can be easily added or removed if the envelopes start getting to thick with shtuff.

Many of the pages in the book that can be written on are from kits Gauche Alchemy has put together! Most notably the Wholey Sheet Kit and the Geekery Mixed Media Kit. The Geekery kit in particular has some awesome fun papers with things you probably haven’t seen since childhood!

Some inside pages… My friend loves puzzles and it just so happens that many of the Color Mixed Media Kits include these! There’s fun little doodads throughout the journal, actually, from the color kits. Things that make me giggle.

I feel any journal should have some hint of inspiration so i like to finish mine off with some quotes I find particularly inspiring, and I believe my friend might as well.

Hope you enjoyed looking through my friend’s journal! 🙂
Have a great weekend!

7 Responses

  1. Totally awesome!! I think I should commission you to be my friend and make me one!!

  2. really beautiful gets me motivated to make a mess!!!!

  3. This is soooo Cool Lara-your friend is gonna love it!!

  4. your art journal just rocks Lara!

  5. Gorgeous! Love the layers of paint!

  6. What a wonderful gift! and a great friend you are for making that for them!

Leave a comment